Skip to content

working mama

May 5, 2010

Recently, I have spent some time thinking about what it means (to me) to be a mother. Everyone can quote the statistics: Moms make less money and have less chance at getting into and staying in fast-track professions (architecture included? But, of course). Dads benefit from the fact that they look more responsible and committed almost instantly. So that means that I now find myself at a crossroads with the age-old dilemma. How am I going to tackle this change? Well, head on, of course.

I’ve always known that I wanted to be a working mother. I know I need balance in my life. (Ask the dogs. The last week of us being home together has almost sent them both to “the farm.”– and I don’t mean Ina May‘s.) But how to do the best at both jobs and stay sane? Only time will tell, but I am glad I have a decent track record of being over-committed. Normally, that’s when I do my best.

And that’s just what I intend to do– my best. I have been lucky enough to find a job (after the research grant I was working on at the University ran out last week) where I get to do design work, move toward licensure, and work from home/virtually. Good thing I am a time-management drill sargeant.

Little boy, you may rule the roost, but I have found a way for both of us to get what we need. And that’s how I intend to be a Mom.

So here’s to a life of “doing my best.”

Image from: http://www.artsentralasia.com/img/full/borders/justiniani_working_mother.jpg

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 5, 2010 9:39 am

    Oh my gosh, I LOVE this show. I continue to watch it even though the girls (and the fathers) on this show drive me INSANE. They are just unbelievably immature and naive. I guess it makes me thankful that our baby will not be raised that way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

