Skip to content

16 and pregnant

May 5, 2010

This show is like a car crash. I just can’t.turn.away.

Maybe it’s because I have been watching my own belly grow while I see theirs balloon over the course of the first half hour, but I am blown away by every episode. On multiple levels.

For starters, I can’t imagine going through this when I was 16. Now, I worry about knowing about the latest child-related recalls and picking the right pre-schools, I don’t think I could have handled it then. My brain didn’t have room for strollers and proper car seat installation. At all. It would just be so hard. SO much harder than it is now, which is no cake-walk.

And their partners! I am confident and comfortable in my relationship, and I know Dustin can’t quite understand why I need a back rub EVERY night with (less than, ahem) three weeks to go. But I can’t even imagine him at 16 being up for all this (and I knew him at 16, so that’s a very educated guess.)

And being a working mother, like I obsessed about in the last post? Shoot. Graduating from high school! Then what? The book that stemmed the last post doesn’t even account for the fact that I am becoming a mother AFTER completing a graduate degree and how much it will still affect me. What about these girls?

I can’t decide if I watch because it makes me feel a little more confident? Like, if they can do it, I can do it. Or if I watch just because my jaw sits on the floor for the entire hour.

See. It’s just like a car crash. No, and impending car crash.

Image from: http://www.mtv.com

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

