Skip to content

dear body

April 17, 2010

Dear body,

I have asked you do so much already, I know. I have asked to run marathons, finish half-ironmans and throw yourself (repeatedly) onto the floor after a little white ball.

I have appreciated you, even loved you at times, but I know there have been other times when I was a little disappointed in you. You maybe didn’t look quite like I wanted you to, or perform quite the way I expected but, overall, we have had a pretty good relationship.

Even in the last eight months, I have asked you to lift weights, cycle, run, walk, and jump.  I know. It’s more than you wanted to do on most occasions, but you have handled it all so well.

You have done it all without so much as a broken bone, a surgery, or a failure.

This probably isn’t the last time I ask something of you (for your own good…), but listen to this very special request I have for you: please make this all go as planned. Please send me clear signals, start and progress at a normal pace, and deliver this little boy into the world. I can stand exhausting and I can stand pain, but let’s let it all go smoothly. Please don’t do anything crazy– no weird umbilical wrapping, no spikes in blood pressure, and no stalling. Trust me, neither one of us (or the three of us, for that matter) wants to end up in the operating room.

I have done my best these last few months to prepare us both mentally and physically for this challenge. I have practiced my Hypnobirthing, stayed active, and read as much as I could about this event. Please do as you have done for some many other challenges that have faced us both. It’s too late now to back out. You have one week until he’s “fully cooked” (how time has flown by…) so let’s buck up and get this done.

Sooner rather than later.Thanks.

Britni

Image from: http://www.flickr.com/photos/jose-montenegro/1060151652/

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2010 7:42 pm

    What a great letter. Hope everything will be okay with you and your body 🙂

  2. April 18, 2010 4:34 pm

    You’re going to do great! You have worked so hard and done all the prep work possible. But take it from somebody who has had to go to the OR…sometimes you have to be flexible and if your body says that a detour must be made from the plan, you just gotta flow with it 🙂 Best of luck, can’t wait to see pictures of the little guy 🙂

  3. Kati Radziwon permalink
    April 18, 2010 9:14 pm

    I love this post!! You are going to do so amazing and I can’t wait to hear the story. Nothing will go exactly as planned, but it will happen and your body will do what it needs to do! I wholeheartedly agree with Jen. Coming from someone who did not expect a c-section and had one, sometimes you just have to roll with it. Our bodies are incredible, but even they know sometimes when the right thing to do is to detour from the plan for the safety of the baby. I have no doubt that this little guy will make it here safe and sound, regardless of how he enters the world! You have done everything you can, so just enjoy these last few days or weeks until your life changes forever! Wishing you the best of luck for a blessed and fantastic birth!

  4. April 23, 2010 2:26 pm

    You are an inspiration for preparing for child birth! I hope everything goes smoothly and to plan, you couldn’t have prepped any better.
    Only one more week! It is very exciting, I wish you all the best of luck.
    :0) Ivie

Leave a Reply

