Skip to content

sleep. it’s possibly all I have been thinking about.

March 21, 2010

It seems that sleep has escaped me. With one and a half months left until baby, it seems he is preparing me for what everyone has been prepping me for: no sleep.

See, I knew this was coming. I am in the bottom percentages of sleepers: I alternate between freefaller and starfish. This is how I have always slept and I knew it wouldn’t mix well with a baby bump. I told Dustin this was my biggest fear about getting pregnant this long before it happened. I have slept this way since I was a baby (that was the word on the street in those days to prevent SIDS, though thought has since changed). And now, with the huge bump in front, I am forced to sleep on my side. This hurts my shoulder, either shoulder and I just end up rolling back and forth from left side (which I know is the better side) to a little bit of right side, but then I feel guilty about possibly depriving the little one of blood flow/oxygen to the uterus, so I switch back (with a momentary pause on my back, which I know I should avoid but need to stretch!) Then my shoulder aches and I roll back. All night long. Even Dustin has noticed and he is usually too busy snoring. Just one of many more changes to come I suppose.

Do you know what I am looking forward to more than that first beer after pregnancy/breast feeding? I am looking forward to sleeping on my tummy. Even if it is for only 20 minutes at a time.

Image from: http://life979.com/blogs/tim/2009/03/17/are-you-a-yearner/

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kati Radziwon permalink
    March 22, 2010 11:58 am

    This is the constant pregnant headache and I completely feel you on this. I would say though, don’t worry about being on your right side or your back if you are comfortable. Just prop yourself up with a few pillows and try to get some ZZZZ’s. According to my midwife friend, your body will tell you if you need to move. Good luck!

  2. March 23, 2010 9:52 am

    I agree with Kati…do what is comfortable. I used a bunch of pillows to prop myself in the semi-prone position (combination of yearner and free faller?) which helped with the shoulder pressure. You might even try sleeping in a recliner if you have access to one…This too shall pass!

Leave a Reply

