Skip to content

it has finally happened.

March 16, 2010

All the books warned me. I thought it was a pregnancy myth.

Strangers do want to touch your belly.

So this is how it happened: I was on the N/Judah bus in San Francisco yesterday and a man approached me. (Yes, the crazy, mumbling, bus-riding kind.) And he asked me for directions. Of course, I barely knew where I was going, so I apologized and went back to looking out the window. My stop came, I got off, and there he was again. With another question. I, again, apologized and told him I didn’t know and started to turn away…

I was meeting one of my oldest friends and she was just calling to tell me where she was. As the phone was ringing, the man then asked me how far along I was. I replied nicely, turning my attention to the ringing phone.

And then it happened. He reached out and touched my belly.

I am not Buddah. There’s no good luck for touching it. I know it sticks out now, but if it was my nose, he wouldn’t rub it.

It really doesn’t bother me one bit when friends or family touch it or try to feel him move around. But the crazy man on the bus is a whole other story.

Luckily, I still had the phone ringing in my hand and I pulled away, apologized and said it was a very important phone call– which was the truth–I had to find my friend and tell her about the crazy, bus-riding man in San Francisco.

Image from:http://www.flickr.com/photos/easy-lucky-free/3651551016/

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mary permalink
    March 16, 2010 9:46 am

    YIKES!! I think you “handled” (sorry) the situation amazingly well.

Leave a Reply

