Skip to content

to my baby boy.

February 16, 2010

I took you to listen to Jesse Jackson today. Since that’s about all you can do now– respond to noise– I figured he was a good place to start.

I hope that in your lifetime you can see America change as much as he has. I hope you have the character to fight unjust laws and unequal treatment. I hope you vote when you turn 18 because you are interested and knowledgeable about your influence on the world. I hope that you can respond to adversity and unfairness the way he preaches– by using your attendance and your voice as your support, not by violence or by hurting others.

I hope that, by living in a home where politics are discussed, you can learn to both love and critique at the same time.

And most of all, like he said to you today, I hope you dream.

And while we’re at it, let’s both hope that by the time you are reading this, he has succeeded in getting all student loans forgiven.

Image from: http://www.flickr.com/photos/kioko/3283073942/

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary permalink
    February 16, 2010 10:57 pm

    You go Mom!!

  2. Elisa permalink
    February 17, 2010 7:21 pm

    Leading by example and close association. You will be a great mom, Britni!

Leave a Reply

