Skip to content

question for all the mommies. and daddies. (aka HELP!!)

February 4, 2010

We have been trying to put together our list of essentials for a while now.

Really, though, it’s like preparing for an apocalypse. Who knows what will be the most useful item. (Perhaps a table-top washer, Mom?) The only thing I have learned from all the questions I have asked is that everyone SWEARS by one thing… and it’s always a different thing. (Besides the “one” item, though, we don’t even know what the non-essentials are… Do infants wear socks? How often and am I really going to change his clothes everyday?) My initial approach of preparing for things in the order we think we will need them hasn’t gotten me much past the car seat.

This little deadline is coming quickly. Opinions? (A list would be nice…)

Image from: http://daddytypes.com/archive/beprepared_cover.jpg

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Erin/Garrett permalink
    February 5, 2010 9:31 pm

    Hey Britni, Erin here (again!). I love your blog, we have one too. We started it the day we found out we were pregnant…I will have to send you the link. So, for our ” one thing” it is definitely the swaddle and the swaddle blanket. Because of the swaddle we have ALL slept through the night since Quinn was just a few weeks old. We use a blanket by Aden+Anais and we watched a video that our doula gave us called “The Happiest Baby on the Block” which explains how to do a swaddle as there really is an art to it…I definitely recommend it! Hope you are doing well and having fun in this planning/nesting stage! ~Erin

  2. February 7, 2010 12:34 am

    Britni! I hear you on all the opinions regarding baby gear (cloth vs. disposable? Crib vs. bassinet vs. cosleeping? AHHH!!!)…even better, what works for one baby doesn’t always work for the next! I have also been blogging and your question inspired my most recent rant (http://taterpatches.blogspot.com/2010/02/gear-we-have-actually-found-useful-and.html)…

    Funny enough, every item that Erin mentioned made my list! The Aden and Anais blankets are my newest find and I absolutely love them for swaddling/blanketing/covering up while breastfeeding. A lot of people try to use receiving blankets to swaddle and I have found them to just be too small to get a good wrap (they make great burp cloths though!) Alex has been doing a “double bundle” at night using the muslin blanket and the swaddleme (which has velcro so it really holds them in when they are wriggling!) The Happiest Baby on the Block was a huge help for us and we still live by the 5 S’s.

    Happy nesting! ~Jenn

  3. Kati Radziwon permalink
    February 8, 2010 2:37 pm

    A BOB STROLLER!!!! Oh and a Kangaroo Korner sling :). Besides about a million other items, those are 2 I couldn’t live without!

    • March 1, 2010 4:12 pm

      You are not the first to recommend the Bob… I will be looking into it. When we were up in Vancouver last week I noticed them ALL OVER! It must be the hot item right now! Thanks for getting me headed in the right direction! (I need it, believe me!)

Leave a Reply

