Skip to content

christmas garland

January 9, 2010

I want to try and make one thing each year so that, eventually, our Christmas decorations will be primarily made by hand. I decided to start with the Christmas tree garland this year. Inspired by Martha Stewart’s Cover this December, I went with turquoise and red patterned prints.

I did this by cutting out shapes from the center fold and then sewing them continuously to form the garland–leaving the edges unfinished. Recently, I have found a few great examples of this technique and wanted to make this my own for the holidays. It was fun, but my sewing machine (this is what I get for skimping in this department) hates to sew without any fabric under the pressure foot. Hates it. It was a lot of starting, stopping, backing up and re-sewing.

If I were truly a blogger and not just a beginner, I would have taken better pictures of the finished product. Sadly, I am not so imagination is key here. Bear with me. I will get better at this.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

